Dragon Weather) continues the heroic story of orphan, ex-slave and dragonheart Arlian as"/>

THE DRAGON SOCIETY

Lawrence Watt-Evans, Author . Tor $27.95 (416p) ISBN 0-765-30007-9

The second book in Watt-Evans's Obsidian Chronicles (after 1999's Dragon Weather) continues the heroic story of orphan, ex-slave and dragonheart Arlian as he seeks revenge against dragonkind for the destruction of his village and the murder of his family. Arlian's dragonheart, gained after accidentally swallowing dragon venom and human blood, makes him immune to disease and seemingly immortal, like the other members of the Dragon Society in the walled city of Manfort. But Arlian has also learned two secrets bound to alter everything the Dragon Society knows. First, after living a thousand years, dragonhearts die giving birth to new dragonhearts; and, second, dragonhearts can be slain by weapons made of obsidian. At the revelations, the Dragon Society splits into two camps, fearing the dragons will restart the deadly war with the humans. The members of the Dragon Society also fear Arlian will kill them, to prevent them from becoming dragons. Arlian doesn't want war any more than anyone else, but he's not about to cease his quest for vengeance. Realizing he must pacify his enemies in the Dragon Society, Arlian decides the only way to do so is to find a way to cure those afflicted with the dragonheart. Although frequently slow and repetitive, the story contains plenty of intrigue and magic. This book is sure to satisfy the author's many fans, as well as lovers of epic fantasy in the tradition of L.E. Modesitt and Terry Goodkind. (Dec. 19)

FYI:Watt-Evans is coauthor, with Esther M. Friesner, of Split Heirs.

Reviewed on: 10/22/2001
Release date: 12/01/2001
X
Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Email Address

Password

Log In Lost Password

PW has integrated its print and digital subscriptions, offering exciting new benefits to subscribers, who are now entitled to both the print edition and the digital editions of PW (online or via our app). For instructions on how to set up your accout for digital access, click here. For more information, click here.

The part of the site you are trying to access is now available to subscribers only. Subscribers: to set up your digital subscription with the new system (if you have not done so already), click here. To subscribe, click here.

Email pw@pubservice.com with questions.

Not Registered? Click here.