The Stolen Heart ) explores twisted love. Shy, insecure tee"/>
 

Blood Mask

Lauren Kelly, Author
Lauren Kelly, Author . Ecco $24.95 (252p) ISBN 978-0-06-111903-3
Paperback - 252 pages - 978-0-06-111904-0
Peanut Press/Palm Reader - 272 pages - 978-0-06-119189-3
Open Ebook - 272 pages - 978-0-06-119186-2
Ebook - 272 pages - 978-0-06-119190-9
Ebook - 272 pages - 978-0-06-173941-5
Show other formats
FORMATS

Joyce Carol Oates's gripping third suspense novel under her Kelly pseudonym (after 2005's The Stolen Heart ) explores twisted love. Shy, insecure teenager Annemarie Straube becomes the object of intense scrutiny when she's discovered half-clothed and drugged, wandering through the woods. She and her aunt, Drewe Hildebrand, were apparently abducted by fundamentalist Christians who vandalized the older woman's Hudson River estate. Under police questioning, Annemarie has only fragmentary memories of the attack and of being force-fed a powder later determined to be crystal meth. Through flashbacks, Kelly portrays the odd relationship between Annemarie and Drewe and the bizarre assortment of cutting-edge artists who were part of their circle and who eventually emerge as the main suspects in the kidnapping. Since the heroine is the very definition of the proverbial unreliable narrator, piecing together subtle psychological clues to discover the truth will challenge most readers. Fans of Minette Walters and Ruth Rendell will be well pleased. (May)

The Best Books, Emailed Every Week
Tip Sheet!
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X