FREEDOM IN THE FAMILY: A Mother-Daughter Memoir of the Fight for Civil Rights

Tananarive Due, Author, Patricia Stephens Due, Author, Patricia Stephens Due, Joint Author . Ballantine $24.95 (400p) ISBN 978-0-345-44733-3

While Martin Luther King was a major influence on Patricia Stephens Due, she knows that the civil rights movement was spurred on by average citizens like her throughout the South in the 1960s, and she sets out in this memoir to write her story as well as the stories of her fellow grassroots activists. Her tale is interwoven with that of her daughter, Tananarive, who won an American Book Award this year for her novel The Living Blood. Patricia's narrative takes the reader through protests at a segregated Woolworth's lunch counter in Florida and numerous arrests that garnered national attention, leading to a correspondence with King as well as baseball hero and activist Jackie Robinson. But Particia's activism did not end with the movement; one of the memoir's most powerful anecdotes, written by Tananarive, recounts a showdown years later between Patricia and an intimidating cluster of police officers who arrived at the family home in Miami in a misguided, racially motivated hunt for thieves. Also tracking the achievements of lawyer John Due, Patricia's husband and Tananarive's father, mother and daughter write (in alternating chapters) with an energy that is cathartic in its recounting of past obstacles, and optimistic in its hopes for the future. 16 pages of photos not seen by PW. (Jan.)

Forecast:The familial structure and content of this memoir, and its on-the-ground accounts of the civil rights movement, could make it a sleeper hit, urged on by a six-city author tour that should draw further media coverage. Fans of The Living Blood and Tananarive Due's other novels will certainly search out this title, and it should sharpen appetites for her next fiction project, The Good House, due in September 2003.

Reviewed on: 12/23/2002
Release date: 01/01/2003
Show other formats
FORMATS
Paperback - 389 pages - 978-0-345-44734-0
Downloadable Audio - 978-1-4498-8978-4
X
Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Email Address

Password

Log In Lost Password

PW has integrated its print and digital subscriptions, offering exciting new benefits to subscribers, who are now entitled to both the print edition and the digital editions of PW (online or via our app). For instructions on how to set up your accout for digital access, click here. For more information, click here.

The part of the site you are trying to access is now available to subscribers only. Subscribers: to set up your digital subscription with the new system (if you have not done so already), click here. To subscribe, click here.

Email pw@pubservice.com with questions.

Not Registered? Click here.