Millicent Min, Girl Genius , have a chance to take a closer look at Millicent's nemisis, Standford Wong, in this winsome companion novel told from Sta"/>

Standford Wong Flunks Big Time

Lisa Yee, Author . Scholastic/Levine $16.99 (296p) ISBN 978-0-439-62247-9

Fans of Millicent Min, Girl Genius , have a chance to take a closer look at Millicent's nemisis, Standford Wong, in this winsome companion novel told from Standford's point of view. Here, behind Standford's pesky exterior, readers will discover a complicated, vulnerable and lovable hero, whose summer after sixth grade begins on a sour note. After flunking English class, Standford must give up his opportunity to go to a prestigious basketball camp in order to attend summer school. To add insult to injury, his parents have hired brainy Millicent (whom they both greatly admire) to be his private tutor. Meanwhile, tensions rise in Standford's home due to Mr. Wong's recent obsession with work and Mrs. Wong's suggestion that Standford's beloved but forgetful, live-in grandmother, Yin-Yin be placed in a nursing home. During a summer filled with painful growing experiences, Standford learns that there's more to life than basketball as he struggles to win his father's acceptance, falls in love for the first time and develops surprising loyalties to much-taunted Millicent and the "Teacher Torturer," who flunked him. Upon finishing this book, those who have already opened their hearts to Millicent will find room to include Standford too, and will likely want to know how both will fare in the upcoming school year. Ages 9-12. (Oct.)

Reviewed on: 11/07/2005
Release date: 10/01/2005
Show other formats
FORMATS
Paperback - 296 pages - 978-0-439-62248-6
X
Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Email Address

Password

Log In Lost Password

PW has integrated its print and digital subscriptions, offering exciting new benefits to subscribers, who are now entitled to both the print edition and the digital editions of PW (online or via our app). For instructions on how to set up your accout for digital access, click here. For more information, click here.

The part of the site you are trying to access is now available to subscribers only. Subscribers: to set up your digital subscription with the new system (if you have not done so already), click here. To subscribe, click here.

Email pw@pubservice.com with questions.

Not Registered? Click here.