Dr. Seuss & Mr. Geisel: A Biography

Judith Morgan, Author, Neil Morgan, With Random House (NY) $25 (345p) ISBN 978-0-679-41686-9
In this authorized biography, California journalists Judith and Neil Morgan present a dutifully researched and intimate portrait of the late children's-book author and artist beloved by millions. Fans of The Cat in the Hat, The Grinch Who Stole Christmas and other classics may be surprised to learn that Dr. Seuss was terrified of children and had none of his own, and that writing verse was a supreme effort for him. While children's literature is Ted Geisel's principal claim to fame, his creative life was multifarious, including an apprenticeship with film director and army major Frank Capra during WWII and stints in advertising. The authors deftly evoke the settings where Geisel lived and worked, such as his hometown of Springfield, Mass.; Oxford, England, where he studied; and coastal La Jolla, Calif., where he spent roughly half his life. Friends of their subject, the Morgans also vividly depict a quiet but exuberant man with a keen wit and biting--though never mean-spirited--sense of humor. A pleasing combination of fact and anecdote, this volume is a fitting tribute. (Apr.)
Reviewed on: 04/03/1995
Release date: 04/01/1995
Show other formats
FORMATS
Paperback - 388 pages - 978-0-306-80736-7
Hardcover - 978-0-517-19500-0
Paperback - 368 pages - 978-0-8129-7253-5
Open Ebook - 386 pages - 978-0-7867-4830-3
X
Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Email Address

Password

Log In Lost Password

PW has integrated its print and digital subscriptions, offering exciting new benefits to subscribers, who are now entitled to both the print edition and the digital editions of PW (online or via our app). For instructions on how to set up your accout for digital access, click here. For more information, click here.

The part of the site you are trying to access is now available to subscribers only. Subscribers: to set up your digital subscription with the new system (if you have not done so already), click here. To subscribe, click here.

Email pw@pubservice.com with questions.

Not Registered? Click here.