Rosemary and Rue

Seanan McGuire, Author
Seanan McGuire, Author . DAW $7.99 (368p) ISBN 978-0-7564-0571-7
Reviewed on: 07/13/2009
Release date: 09/01/2009
Pre-Recorded Audio Player - 978-1-4418-6970-8
MP3 CD - 978-1-5012-4687-6
Hardcover - 1 pages - 978-1-4805-9088-5
Hardcover - 10 pages - 978-1-4805-9087-8
Open Ebook - 368 pages - 978-1-101-13919-6
Open Ebook - 368 pages - 978-1-101-14010-9
Compact Disc - 978-1-4418-6169-6
MP3 CD - 978-1-4418-6171-9
Show other formats
FORMATS

Singer-songwriter McGuire adeptly infuses her debut with hardboiled sensibilities and a wide array of mythological influences, set against a moody San Francisco backdrop. October “Toby” Daye is half-human, half-faerie, a changeling PI with a foot in both worlds. After spending 14 years as a fish following a botched assignment, she's desperate to avoid magic, but the dying curse of a murdered elven lady forces her to investigate the killing, with the price of failure being Toby's own painful death. Toby struggles with court intrigue, magical mayhem, would-be assassins and her own past, always driven by the need to succeed and survive. Well researched, sharply told, highly atmospheric and as brutal as any pulp detective tale, this promising start to a new urban fantasy series is sure to appeal to fans of Jim Butcher or Kim Harrison. (Sept.)

The Best Books, Emailed Every Week
Tip Sheet!
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X