Ten Orange Pumpkins: A Counting Book

Stephen Savage. Dial, $16.99 (48p) ISBN 978-0-8037-3938-3
Savage counts down from 10 as, one by one, pumpkins vanish in very Halloween-appropriate ways. Fans of Where’s Walrus and Savage’s Polar Bear books will recognize and appreciate the sleek design of Savage’s artwork, which still allows room for Halloween mischief, too. “Eight orange pumpkins/ Beneath a starry heaven./ Thunderclouds come rolling in./ Flash! There are 7,” he writes as a gleaming white zigzag of a lightning bolt obliterates one of the pumpkins, which are lined up in a graveyard in one scene. Ghosts, skeletons, and other holiday standbys also make appearances, and Savage’s spirited rhymes (no pun intended) make this an ideal readaloud for younger Halloween celebrants. Ages 3–5. Agent: Brenda Bowen, Sanford J. Greenburger Associates. (Aug.)
Reviewed on: 07/22/2013
Release date: 08/29/2013
Show other formats
FORMATS
X
Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Email Address

Password

Log In Lost Password

PW has integrated its print and digital subscriptions, offering exciting new benefits to subscribers, who are now entitled to both the print edition and the digital editions of PW (online or via our app). For instructions on how to set up your accout for digital access, click here. For more information, click here.

The part of the site you are trying to access is now available to subscribers only. Subscribers: to set up your digital subscription with the new system (if you have not done so already), click here. To subscribe, click here.

Email pw@pubservice.com with questions.

Not Registered? Click here.