Blood of Paradise ) delivers a rich, hard-hitting epic that illuminates the violent and surreal landscapes of Central America and Mexico. After 18-year-o"/>
 

Do They Know I’m Running?

David Corbett, Author
David Corbett, Author Ballantine $15 (452p) ISBN 978-0-8129-7755-4
Reviewed on: 01/11/2010
Release date: 03/01/2010
Ebook - 352 pages - 978-0-345-51515-5
Open Ebook - 1 pages - 978-1-306-61125-1
Ebook - 464 pages - 978-1-4532-8970-9
Show other formats
FORMATS

Corbett (Blood of Paradise ) delivers a rich, hard-hitting epic that illuminates the violent and surreal landscapes of Central America and Mexico. After 18-year-old Roque Montalvo’s uncle, Faustino, an illegal Salvadoran immigrant, is deported in an INS sweep, Roque’s criminal cousin, Pablo “Happy” Orantes, cooks up a scheme to smuggle Faustino back to California, along with a mysterious Palestinian asylum seeker, but it involves a hefty price to Latin American thugs. Happy strikes a deal with an FBI agent, offering up a major drug dealer for his family’s citizenship papers. Roque travels from California to El Salvador, where he discovers that the gangsters want him to deliver a beautiful girl about his age, Lupe, to a vicious border crime leader. Roque and Lupe embark on an unforgettable journey north, pursued by banditos, police, and the FBI. Of course, Roque falls for Lupe and vows to help her escape a dismal fate. Fans of Luis Alberto Urrea and Don Winslow alike will be richly rewarded. (Mar.)

The Best Books, Emailed Every Week
Tip Sheet!
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X