Unearthing the Lost Words of Jesus: The Discovery and Text of the Gospel of Thomas

John Dart, Author, Ray Riegert, Author Ulysses Press $17 (220p) ISBN 978-1-56975-095-7
In 1945, a group of camel drivers from the al-Samman clan unearthed an ancient earthenware jar while digging for much-needed fertilizer. Unwittingly, the drivers had discovered the greatest collection of early Christian documents ever found, the Nag Hammadi library. Among the ancient papyri was the Gospel of Thomas, a collection of over 100 sayings of Jesus purportedly gathered by Jesus' disciple Thomas (the doubting one). Dart, a religion writer for the Los Angeles Times, and Riegert (The Lost Gospel Q), narrate this story of discovery and offer an annotated translation of the Gospel of Thomas. Each saying is explained in terms of its historical and spiritual importance. For example, Jesus' tendency simultaneously to reveal and conceal his message and his identity is reflected, the contend, in the saying, ""Recognize what is in front of your face and what is concealed will be revealed to you. For there is nothing that will not be disclosed."" In this book, Thomas seems to present Jesus as a sage, the personification of wisdom, cast in the tradition of Solomon or Buddha, a humble man with a powerful message. (Nov.)
Reviewed on: 06/29/1998
Release date: 07/01/1998
Show other formats
FORMATS
X
Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Email Address

Password

Log In Lost Password

PW has integrated its print and digital subscriptions, offering exciting new benefits to subscribers, who are now entitled to both the print edition and the digital editions of PW (online or via our app). For instructions on how to set up your accout for digital access, click here. For more information, click here.

The part of the site you are trying to access is now available to subscribers only. Subscribers: to set up your digital subscription with the new system (if you have not done so already), click here. To subscribe, click here.

Email pw@pubservice.com with questions.

Not Registered? Click here.