An Empire Unacquainted with Defeat: A Chronicle of the Dread Empire

Glen Cook, Author
Glen Cook, Author . Night Shade $24.95 (248p) ISBN 978-1-59780-140-9
Reviewed on: 07/27/2009
Release date: 04/01/2009
Paperback - 248 pages - 978-1-59780-188-1
Open Ebook - 288 pages - 978-1-59780-374-8
Show other formats
FORMATS

Two collections that tie into grim epic fantasy series.

An Empire Unacquainted with Defeat: A Chronicle of the Dread Empire Glen Cook . Night Shade (www.nightshadebooks.com ), $24.95 (256p) ISBN 978-1-59780-140-9

These 10 shadowy short stories take place in the same world as Cook's 1980s Dread Empire sword and sorcery novels. “Ghost Stalk,” “Call for the Dead” and the previously unpublished “Hell Forge” form an episodic tale of a damned crew's quest to escape hell. The other stories stand alone but share settings and characters, including the despotic empire itself, which lurks as an unseen but omnipresent menace. In this gloomy world, all are subject to the whims of those above them, quests rarely end happily and comic elements are limited to gallows humor. Fans of Fritz Leiber and Steven Erikson will enjoy these unjustly overlooked tales. (Sept.)

The Best Books, Emailed Every Week
Tip Sheet!
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X