Browse archive by date:
  • Rona Jaffe Winners Announced for 2016

    The Rona Jaffe Foundation has announced the winners of its eponymous writer's awards for 2016. The awards are given annually to six women writers who "demonstrate excellence and promise in the early stages of their careers."

  • NEH to Endow More than $4 Million in Publishing Grants

    The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) has announced $79 million in grants for 290 humanities projects and programs across the United States, including more than $4 million to book-related projects.

  • Write a House Is Building a New Literary City in Detroit

    As real estate prices soar in traditional artistic and cultural hubs such as Los Angeles, New York, and San Francisco, writers are looking toward smaller cities with cheaper rent.

  • John Lewis’s ‘March’, Peter Kuper’s ‘Ruins’ Win Eisner Awards

    To the delight of the audience at the Eisner ceremonies, John Lewis's 'March Book Two' and Peter Kuper's 'Ruins' won Eisners, while Lynda Barry and Matt Groening were inducted into the Hall of Fame.

  • PEN America Announces Two New Awards

    PEN America has announced the PEN/Jean Stein Book Award and the PEN/Jean Stein Grant for Oral History. The former, which comes with a $75,000 purse, will confer one of the biggest monetary awards in the country.

  • Catapult Partners with PEN for New Emerging Writers Awards

    PEN American Center has announced the PEN/Robert J. Dau Short Story Prize for Emerging Writers, the newest addition to its lineup of literary awards. Winning stories will be collected and published in an annual anthology by Catapult.

  • At PEN Gala, Rowling Calls Trump 'Bigoted'

    At the gala, which PEN president Andrew Solomon said was the nonprofit's most successful fundraiser to date, J.K. Rowling, one of the evening's honorees, condemned the views of U.S. presidential candidate Donald Trump.

  • 'Girl on the Train' Among Audie Award Winners

    The winners of the 2016 Audie Awards have been announced, and include Paula Hawkins's 'The Girl on the Train,' read by Clare Corbett, Louise Brealey, and India Fisher, for Audiobook of the Year.

  • 2016 Children's Choice Book Award Winners

    The 2016 Children’s Choice Book Awards winners have been announced.

  • Diversity Celebrated at 2016 Edgar Awards

    The Mystery Writers of America named Walter Mosley its first African-American grand master and gave out awards to Pulitzer winner Viet Thanh Nguyen and Sisters in Crime, among others, at last night’s event.

  • Viet Thanh Nguyen, William Finnegan Among Pulitzer Winners

    The novelist and the 'New Yorker' staff writer take home the prizes for fiction and biography respectively at the centennial awards ceremony.

  • Morrison, Coates, Redniss Win 2016 PEN Awards

    The ceremony, which honored authors such as Toni Morrison and Ta-Nehisi Coates, was the first one in which PEN American announced the winners live.

  • Bologna 2016: Meg Rosoff Wins Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

    Meg Rosoff is the winner of the 2016 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, the world's largest children's book prize.

  • Bologna 2016: Berner and Wenxuan Win 2016 Hans Christian Andersen Awards

    German author-illustrator Rotraut Susanne Berner and Chinese author Cao Wenxuan are the winners of the 2016 Hans Christian Andersen Award for illustration and writing.

  • Mexican Author Wins Human Rights Award

    Lydia Cacho is one of two writers who were recently named the winners of the Abraham Lincoln Brigade Archives/Puffin Award for Human Rights Activism.

  • Judges Announced for National Book Awards

    The judges for the 2016 National Book Awards include novelists Karen Joy Fowler and Jesmyn Ward, author and former TV host Melissa Harris-Perry, and poet Jericho Brown.

  • The 2016 NBCC Awards in Photos

    Photos from this year's National Book Critics Circle Awards, held March 17 in New York City.

  • Beatty, Jefferson, Nelson Win 2016 NBCC Awards

    Paul Beatty's novel 'The Sellout', Margo Jefferson's memoir 'Negroland' and Maggie Nelson's critical work, 'The Argonauts', were among the books awarded 2016 National Book Critics Circle Awards.

  • 2016 Carle Honorees Announced

    The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art has announced the recipients of its 2016 Carle Honors.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email:

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.