The Second Mrs. \t\t Darcy

Elizabeth Aston, Author . Touchstone $14 (300p) ISBN 978-0-7432-9729-5
%%BUY_BOX(978-0-7432-9729-5,1,,,The Second Mrs. \t\t Darcy)%%

Aston's latest novel (after The True Darcy Spirit) focuses on another woman in the tradition of Elizabeth Bennet, Octavia Melbury. Tall and outspoken, Octavia fails to find a husband in London and is dispatched to India, where she is to live with relatives. There, she marries Capt. Christopher Darcy, but their happy union is cut short when he dies from an insect bite. Christopher's spiteful cousin, George Warren, nabs the estate and leaves Octavia with a pittance. However, a surprise and sizable inheritance comes Octavia's way, and she travels back to England, where she keeps mum about her newfound fortune while her conniving half-sister Theodosia schemes to marry her off. Octavia takes a shine to her smart, headstrong niece, Penelope, who, in turn, fancies a man of lower stature than her mother will accept. Not so for Octavia, whose rocky repartee with Lord Sholto Rutherford matures, inevitably, into love. Meanwhile, George realizes Christopher's inheritance isn't as large as he had thought and plots to steal Octavia's fortune. Aston's villains may be one-note wicked, but the lengths to which their puerile greed sends them make for good reading. Fans of the series will enjoy this chronicle of reversals of fortune. (Mar.)

Reviewed on: 12/11/2006
Release date: 03/01/2007
Ebook - 352 pages - 978-1-4165-3919-3
Hardcover - 533 pages - 978-0-7862-9684-2
Paperback - 300 pages - 978-0-00-724150-7
MP3 CD - 978-1-5012-5745-2
Show other formats
FORMATS
%%BUY_BOX(978-0-7432-9729-5,1,,,The Second Mrs. \t\t Darcy)%%
Discover what to read next
TIP SHEET
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X
X