The Narrows

Travis M. Riddle. Travis M. Riddle, $2.99 e-book (256p) ISBN 978-1-72676-874-0
Fans of Twin Peaks and Stranger Things will recognize many elements of Riddle’s story, but he puts his own spin on classic tropes in this chilling mix of horror and fantasy. In a quiet suburb in present-day Shumard, Tex., Oliver and his friends lament the suicide of their friend Noah. Desperate to understand why Noah killed himself, Oliver secretly visits the crime scene each night. When he sees a man dissolve into a puddle of orange goo and begins to get flashes of an alternate Shumard , he wonders whether there’s more to the story of Noah’s death. Soon he ventures into a preternatural world called the Narrows where horrors and answers—as well as further mysteries —await him. Riddle’s intricate worldbuilding and familiar but strong narrative arc sustain fear throughout. However, the author is too eager to answer readers’ questions, stifling the suspense, and backstory slows the momentum. The well-written and highly individualized characters carry the story through its lapses. Fans of eerie tales will easily fall into this one. (BookLife)
Reviewed on : 07/09/2019
Release date: 10/01/2018
Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror
Discover what to read next
TIP SHEET
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X
X