Recently Posted:
  • Ondaatje’s 'The English Patient' Wins Golden Man Booker Prize

    Michael Ondaatje’s 'The English Patient' has been named the winner of the Golden Man Booker Prize, given to the best work of fiction previously awarded the Man Booker Prize over the last 50 years.

  • NBF Starts Petition Process for Noncitizens

    For publishers with authors who are non-U.S. citizens or have particularly complex immigration issues, the National Book Foundation has introduced a petition process to determine eligibility to participate in the National Book Awards.

  • No Nobel Prize in Literature in 2018

    Following a ballooning sexual harassment scandal that has engulfed the Swedish Academy for weeks, the Academy has pushed off awarding the 2018 prize until next year.

  • The 2018 Edgar Awards: Links in the Chain

    At the 72nd Edgars Banquet, held last night at Manhattan’s Grand Hyatt Hotel, 'Murder, She Wrote' creator William Link was honored, alongside novelists Jane Langton and Peter Lovesey. Attica Locke took home Best Novel for 'Bluebird, Bluebird.'

  • Authors Guild, Epiphany Magazine Partner on New Student Writing Prize

    The Authors Guild and literary journal Epiphany magazine have partnered to launch the Breakout 8 Writers Prize, established to "recognize outstanding emerging literary voices" among college students.

  • PW's Star Watch Announced for 2018

    'Publishers Weekly' and Frankfurter Buchmesse have opened nominations for their fourth annual PW Star Watch program, which celebrates and recognizes up-and-coming members of the U.S. and Canadian publishing communities.

  • Andrew Sean Greer, Jack Davis, Frank Bidart Win Pulitzers in Fiction, History, Poetry

    The 2018 Pulitzer Prizes for Letters were awarded in the categories of fiction, history, biography poetry, and general nonfiction.

  • 2018 Pannell Award Winners Announced

    The Women’s National Book Association has announced the winners of its 2018 Pannell Awards, given annually to two bookstores that enhance their communities by fostering a love of reading.

  • Library of Congress Celebrates the Late Denis Johnson

    The Library of Congress, which awarded Denis Johnson with the 2017 Prize for American Fiction, invited several prize-winning writers to talk about the issues raised in his fiction—and in modern society—of violence, addiction, marginality, and isolation.

  • Bologna Welcomes Two New Fellows

    This year’s fellows are Benas Berantas from Vilnius, Lithuania, and Crenguta Mihaila Podolan, from Bucharest, Romania.

Looking for more stories? Browse Archive

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email:

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.