AK Press Launches the Black Dawn Fiction Series

AK Press, an independent publisher specializing in radical left literature, will launch the Black Dawn fiction series, a line of progressive speculative fiction that will explore anti-racist, feminist, and LGBTQ issues.

The Black Dawn line of fiction will be edited by Sanina Clark, a former editor at Seven Stories Press, teacher, and PW contributor. AK Press plans to publish at least eight titles under the Black Dawn line of books, starting in September 2021 with Adrienne Maree Browns’ debut novella Grievers, a story of survival in the face of a mysterious illness that is set in Detroit. Next, in November 2021, BD will publish the novel A Country of Ghosts by Margaret Killjoy, the story of a journalist who questions his own patriotism after he’s sent to the frontlines of his country’s ever-expanding war of empire.

Black Dawn will invoke anarchist traditions, according to the AK Press release, and will look to publish books that value antiracism, anti-colonialism, anti-capitalism, queerness, and Blackness, and celebrate and support the disenfranchised.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Forgot Password

Premium online access is only available to PW subscribers. If you have an active subscription and need to set up or change your password, please click here.

New to PW? To set up immediate access, click here.

NOTE: If you had a previous PW subscription, click here to reactivate your immediate access. PW site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. If working at an office location and you are not "logged in", simply close and relaunch your preferred browser. For off-site access, click here. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options, please email Mike Popalardo at: mike@nextstepsmarketing.com.

To subscribe: click here.