

PEN HEMINGWAY AWARD

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Monday, March 23, 2015

CONTACT: Karen Wulf / Rob Arnold (617) 324-1729 pen.newengland@mit.edu www.pen-ne.org

HEMENWAY WINS HEMINGWAY: Arna Bontemps Hemenway Receives 2015 PEN/ Hemingway Award for Debut Fiction

BOSTON, MA – PEN New England today announced that **Arna Bontemps Hemenway** has won the 2015 PEN/ Hemingway Award for a distinguished first book of fiction for his critically acclaimed *Elegy for Kinderklavier* (Sarabande). **Patrick Hemingway**, the son of Nobel Prize–winning writer Ernest Hemingway, will present the prestigious literary award to Mr. Hemenway on Sunday, April 19, at the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum in Boston.

Mr. Hemenway will receive a \$20,000 prize from the Hemingway Family, The Ernest Hemingway Society/ Foundation and PEN New England, as well as a residency in The Distinguished Visiting Writers Series at the University of Idaho's MFA Program in Creative Writing which comes with a \$5,000 honorarium, and a Ucross Residency Fellowship for a full month at the Ucross Foundation in Wyoming, a retreat for artists and writers.

Arna Bontemps Hemenway's fiction has appeared in *A Public Space, Ecotone, The Missouri Review, The Seattle Review*, and *Meridian Literary Review*, among others, and has been named a Notable/Distinguished Story of the Year in both the *Best American Short Stories* and *Best American Nonrequired Reading* Anthologies. He has been the recipient of scholarships or fellowships in fiction writing from the Truman Capote Literary Trust, the Iowa Writer's Workshop, the Taos Writers' Conference, the Sewanee Writers' Conference, and the Bread Loaf Writers' Conference. He received a BA from the University of Iowa, and an MFA from the Iowa Writer's Workshop. He is an Assistant Professor of English in Creative Writing at Baylor University.

The two PEN/Hemingway Award finalists are **Kim Fu** for *For Today I Am a Boy* (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) and **Atticus Lish** for *Preparation for the Next Life* (Tyrant Books). Thus two of the three top honorees for this year's award were published by small presses.

Kim Fu is the author of the novel *For Today I Am a Boy*, a New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice and Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers selection, short-listed for the Lambda Literary Awards and the Canadian Authors Association Emerging Writer Award, and long-listed for the Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize and Canada Reads 2015. She lives in Seattle.

Atticus Lish is the author of *Preparation for a New Life*, finalist for the 2015 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction. He also received a 2015 Plimpton Prize for Fiction from *The Paris Review*. He is the illustrator and writer of *Life Is with People* also from Tyrant Books. He lives in New York City.

Two writers will receive honorable mention: **Mark Chiusana** for *Marine Park* (Penguin); and **Diane Cook** for *Man v. Nature* (HarperCollins). Competition finalists and honorable mentions each receive a Ucross Residency Fellowship at the Ucross Foundation in Wyoming.

The judges for the PEN/ Hemingway Award this year were celebrated writers **Chris Adrian**, **Peter Cameron**, and **Yiyun Li**. Cameron was cited for excellence himself by the PEN/Hemingway judging panel in 1987 and Yiyun Li won the PEN/Hemingway award for her first work of fiction, *A Thousand Years of Good Prayers* in 2006.

The awards ceremony will take place on Sunday, April 19, at the JFK Library in Dorchester. Ann Patchett will be the featured keynote speaker. A graduate of Sarah Lawrence College and the Iowa Writer's Workshop, Patchett is the author of six novels and three books of nonfiction, including *Bel Canto, State of Wonder* and *This Is the Story of a Happy Marriage*. The ceremony includes the presentation of the **PEN New England Awards**, celebrating best works of fiction, poetry, and nonfiction by New England authors. The announcement of these winners is coming soon.

PEN New England is a chapter of PEN American Center and part of International PEN, the oldest international literary and human rights organization. We are a worldwide association of writers and all who celebrate literature and defend free expression. For more information about PEN New England, visit www.pen-ne.org.

The late Mary Hemingway, the wife of Ernest Hemingway, founded the PEN/ Hemingway Award in 1976 to honor her late husband and draw attention to first books of fiction. Previous winners include Marilynne Robinson, Edward P. Jones, Chang-Rae Lee, Ha Jin, Jumpa Lahiri, Jennifer Haigh, Ben Fountain, Joshua Ferris, and Teju Cole. The complete list is available at <u>www.pen-ne.org/hemingway-foundationpen-award/</u>. Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis brought the presentation of the PEN/ Hemingway Award from New York to the Kennedy Library in 1992.

The Ernest Hemingway Collection at the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library spans Hemingway's entire career, and contains ninety percent of existing Hemingway manuscript materials, making the Kennedy Library the world's principal center for research on the life and work of Ernest Hemingway. Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis described Mary Hemingway's gift of Ernest Hemingway's papers to the Kennedy Library as helping "to fulfill our hopes that the Library will become a center for the study of American civilization, in all its aspects." For more information on the Hemingway Collection at the Kennedy Library, visit www.jfklibrary.org.

The awards ceremony is sponsored by the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum, the John F. Kennedy Library Foundation, PEN New England, Cerulli Associates, the Hemingway Family, the Friends of the Ernest Hemingway Collection, and the Ernest Hemingway Society/Foundation.

The John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum is a presidential library administered by the National Archives and Records Administration and is supported, in part, by the John F. Kennedy Library Foundation, a non-profit organization.

The ceremony will take place on Sunday, April 19, from 2:00pm to 3:00pm and is free and open to the public. Those interested in attending should call the Kennedy Presidential Library at (617) 514-1643 or register on-line at www.jfklibrary.org to reserve a seat.



PEN/ HEMINGWAY AWARD Winners

1976	Loyd Little	Parthian Shot
1977	Renata Adler	Speedboat
1978	Darcy O'Brien	A Way of Life, Like Any Other
1979	Reuben Bercovitch	Hasen
1980	Alan Saperstein	Mom Kills Kids and Self
1981	Joan Silber	Household Words
1982	Marilynne Robinson	Housekeeping
1983	Bobbie Ann Mason	Shiloh and Other Stories
1984	Joan Chase	During the Reign of the Queen of Sheba
1985	Josephine Humphreys	Dreams of Sleep
1986	Alan V. Hewar	Lady's Time
1987	Mary Ward Brown	Tongues of Flame
1988	Lawrence Thornton	Imagining Argentina
1989	Jane Hamilton	The Book of Ruth
1990	Mark Richard	The Ice at the Bottom of the World
1991	Bernard Cooper	Maps to Anywhere
1992	Louis Begley	Wartime Lies
1993	Edward P. Jones	Lost in the City
1994	Dagoberto Gilb	The Magic of Blood
1995	Susan Power	The Grass Dancer
1996	Chang-Rae Lee	Native Speaker
1997	Ha Jin	Ocean of Words
1998	Charlotte Bacon	A Private State
1999	Rosina Lippi	Homestead
2000	Jhumpa Lahiri	Interpreter of Maladies
2001	Akhil Sharma	An Obedient Father
2002	Justin Cronin	Mary and O'Neil
2003	Gabriel Brownstein	The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Apt. 3W
2004	Jennifer Haigh	Mrs. Kimble
2005	Chris Abani	Graceland
2006	Yiyun Li	A Thousand Years of Good Prayers
2007	Ben Fountain	Brief Encounters With Che Guevara
2008	Joshua Ferris	Then We Came to the End
2009	Michael Dahlie	A Gentleman's Guide to Graceful Living
2010	Brigid Pasulka	A Long, Long Time Ago and Essentially True
2011	Brando Skyhorse	The Madonnas of Echo Park
2012	Teju Cole	Open City
2013	Kevin Powers	The Yellow Birds
2014	NoViolet Bulawayo	We Need New Names