VINTAGE



Jonathan Cape: The Future

Dan Franklin will step down from his role as Publishing Director of Jonathan Cape at the end of 2015 and will be succeeded by Michal Shavit, currently Deputy Publishing Director of Harvill Secker. Robin Robertson has been appointed as Associate Publisher. Alex Bowler, currently Editorial Director at Jonathan Cape, will become Deputy Publishing Director. These new roles will become effective from January 2016.

Michal Shavit joined Harvill Secker as Editorial Director in April 2012, and was then promoted to Deputy Publishing Director in January 2015. She was previously a Commissioning Editor at Allen Lane/Penguin Press and Granta, and prior to this worked as a literary agent at The Wylie Agency. In her time at Harvill Secker, Michal has worked with a number of internationally acclaimed authors, including Yuval Noah Harari, Karl Ove Knausgaard, Rachel Kushner, Denis Johnson, Alexandra Fuller, Rachel Cusk and Ross Raisin.

Alex Bowler joined the editorial team at Jonathan Cape in 2006 and has published authors such as Evie Wyld, Tom McCarthy, Jesse Armstrong, Stephen Collins, Garth Risk Hallberg, Jonathan Lethem, Kevin Barry and Colin Barrett.

Dan Franklin, who will be taking the title of Associate Publisher from January 2016, will continue to look after all his current authors. He will be working three days a week in this new role.

Robin Robertson, Associate Publisher, will work alongside Michal, Alex and Dan, continuing to publish his stellar list of authors, including Irvine Welsh, Anne Enright, Bill Clegg, James Wood, AL Kennedy, Adam Foulds, Patrick McGuinness and John Burnside, along with the prize-winning Jonathan Cape poetry list.

All of the Jonathan Cape team will report into Michal Shavit from January 2016. Michal, in turn, will report into Vintage's Managing Director, Richard Cable. A new Editorial Director for Harvill Secker will be appointed in due course.

Richard Cable said: 'Dan has been an extraordinary presence at Jonathan Cape as Publishing Director – and indeed as Publisher for the division – for over 20 years. I am delighted that we shall continue to benefit from his publishing wisdom and experience. Robin and Dan have overseen an amazing period of prizewinning and commercially successful publishing, with a roster of authors to rival any list, and will continue to do so for the foreseeable future. I am thrilled that in Michal we have the publisher to lead the way for the next 20 years. She and Alex, in his new role - alongside Robin and Dan –will make a formidable team.'

Press contacts: Bethan Jones Head of Publicity Tel: 020 7840 8543 Email: <u>bjones@penguinrandomhouse.co.uk</u>

Christian Lewis Communications Director 07919324890 clewis@penguinrandomhouse.co.uk

20 Vauxhall Bridge Road, London SW1V 2SA P +44(0)207 840 8400 www.vintage-books.co.uk



Penguin Random House UK



Notes to Editors:

ABOUT JONATHAN CAPE:

Jonathan Cape Ltd was founded in 1921 and remains one of the most exciting fiction publishers in Britain today with authors ranging from Thomas Pynchon, Tom Wolfe, Philip Roth, Martin Amis, Ian McEwan, Anthony Quinn, Tessa Hadley, Salman Rushdie, Julian Barnes, Roddy Doyle, A.L. Kennedy, Irvine Welsh, Audrey Niffenegger, Chuck Palahniuk, Anne Enright, Howard Jacobson and Adam Thorpe.

Cape's non-fiction authors include Jung Chang, Alison Weir, Piers Brendon, Julia Blackburn, Sara Wheeler, Ann Wroe, Adrian Tinniswood, Helen MacDonald, Mark Cocker, Patrick McGuinness and James Wood.

Cape also has a thriving poetry list (authors include John Burnside, Sharon Olds, Mark Doty, Michael Longley and Michael Symmons Roberts), the best graphic novels list in Britain (Chris Ware, Dan Clowes, Marjane Satrapi, Posy Simmonds, Raymond Briggs, Joe Sacco, Bryan Talbot, Charles Burns and Stephen Collins) and a list of photographic and art books (Don McCullin, Annie Leibovitz and Lucian Freud).

Jonathan Cape is part of the VINTAGE division of Penguin Random House.

ABOUT HARVILL SECKER:

Harvill Secker has published some of the most iconic and inspiring literary works of the last 100 years, bringing international writing to the attention of British readers. Martin Secker Ltd was founded in 1910 and became Secker & Warburg in 1936. The Harvill Press was founded in 1946. The two imprints were merged in 2005 to become Harvill Secker.

Harvill Secker is home to major writers such as J.M. Coetzee, José Saramago, Haruki Murakami, Louis de Bernières, Günter Grass, Denis Johnson, Henning Mankell, Jo Nesbo, Karl Ove Knausgaard and Umberto Eco. Great writers from the list's history include George Orwell, Colette, Boris Pasternak, Thomas Mann, Yukio Mishima, Mikhail Bulgakov, Vasily Grossman and Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa.

Harvill Secker is part of the VINTAGE division of Penguin Random House.

ABOUT VINTAGE:

VINTAGE is one of the UK's leading literary publishers. Part of Penguin Random House, the largest publishing company in the world, VINTAGE specialises in discovering leading thinkers and writers from around the globe. The publisher comprises of the following imprints: Jonathan Cape, The Bodley Head, Harvill Secker, Chatto & Windus, Hogarth, Yellow Jersey, Square Peg, Vintage and Vintage Classics.

Authors published by VINTAGE are the current holders of the Man Booker Prize, The Samuel Johnson Prize and the Nobel Prize for Literature. Household names on the list include Simon Schama, Nigella Lawson, Salman Rushdie, Haruki Murakami, Alice Munro and Toni Morrison.



Penguin Random House UK