Warlock (2001) left off. The powerful magus"/>

The Quest

Wilbur Smith, Author
Wilbur Smith, Author . St. Martin's/Dunne $27.95 (512p) ISBN 978-0-312-31842-0
Reviewed on: 03/19/2007
Release date: 05/01/2007
Analog Audio Cassette - 4 pages - 978-0-230-01379-7
Mass Market Paperbound - 718 pages
Open Ebook - 512 pages - 978-1-4299-2159-6
Ebook - 978-0-330-47328-6
Hardcover - 503 pages - 978-1-4050-0580-7
Paperback - 628 pages - 978-0-330-41272-8
Compact Disc - 6 pages - 978-1-4272-0135-5
Compact Disc - 978-1-4272-0133-1
Paperback - 503 pages - 978-1-4050-0581-4
Compact Disc - 1 pages - 978-0-230-01378-0
Hardcover - 978-0-230-53236-6
Hardcover - 978-0-330-45601-2
Show other formats

Fans of bestseller Smith's ancient Egyptian series will welcome the fourth book in the saga, which picks up where Warlock (2001) left off. The powerful magus Taita and his loyal ally, Col. Meren Cambyses, have returned to Egypt after a journey of many years only to find the country beset by a series of plagues that include giant flesh-eating toads and river water turned to blood. Pharaoh Nefer Seti asks the pair to find—and eliminate—the source of his country's torment, a mission that sends Taita and Meren on a perilous quest in which they must contend with fierce creatures both natural and supernatural. Once again Smith deftly blends history, fantasy and mythology, but newcomers should be prepared for grisly deaths and mutilations. 225,000 printing. (May)

The Best Books, Emailed Every Week
Tip Sheet!