A Woman Kneeling in the Big City: Poems

Elizabeth Macklin, Author W. W. Norton & Company $18.95 (83p) ISBN 978-0-393-03400-4
The ``big city'' in Macklin's first book is New York. Indeed, many of the poems were first published in the New Yorker , and they are well crafted in the tradition of Marianne Moore and Elizabeth Bishop. The tone of the work is polished, cosmopolitan, but too often there is thin meat on these musical bones. In ``There Is Still Water'' one stanza reads: ``All that we eat was fashioned / by someone.'' In ``A Confession of Lies,'' we find ``The truth: We aren't eager to die.'' One problem is the poet's indecision. In a lovely poem, ``Where Inside Is Dark or Light,'' the speaker sees buildings ``breathing'' with windows: ``I could be, I believed, in any one of them, / darkened or light, the glass seen through / like tears come into my eyes, from / grief or joy.'' Or in ``A Translation of Love in Public,'' she writes, ``We like or don't like to hear stories.'' Finally, the book is fortified by a cluster of strong work--including ``The Nearsighted,'' ``A Field Guide to Lesser Desires,'' ``The Only Child Sends a Gift to Her Mother'' and the title poem. In these, Macklin kindles the mystery of what she really cares about; she shows us the powerful poet she will become. (Oct.)
Reviewed on: 09/28/1992
Release date: 10/01/1992
Show other formats
FORMATS
Paperback - 96 pages - 978-0-393-31105-1
X
Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Email Address

Password

Log In Lost Password

PW has integrated its print and digital subscriptions, offering exciting new benefits to subscribers, who are now entitled to both the print edition and the digital editions of PW (online or via our app). For instructions on how to set up your accout for digital access, click here. For more information, click here.

The part of the site you are trying to access is now available to subscribers only. Subscribers: to set up your digital subscription with the new system (if you have not done so already), click here. To subscribe, click here.

Email pw@pubservice.com with questions.

Not Registered? Click here.