My Side of the Mountain and Julie of the Wolves will embrace this heartfelt addition to George's repertoire of na"/>

CHARLIE'S RAVEN

Jean Craighead George, Author . Dutton $15.99 (190p) ISBN 978-0-525-47219-3

Fans of My Side of the Mountain and Julie of the Wolves will embrace this heartfelt addition to George's repertoire of nature-themed novels. Here the author weaves threads of Native American lore and scientific fact into a moving story set in the Grand Teton Mountains about a boy and a raven. After hearing from Singing Bird, his Native American friend, that "ravens could cure people," 13-year-old Charlie captures a nestling and presents the baby bird to his ailing grandfather, a naturalist. Granddad takes an immediate interest in the tiny raven, whom Charlie names Blue Sky, and encourages his grandson to conduct a study of the bird. Charlie's quest to learn whether "ravens are good" (as his friend Singing Bird believes), "bad" (as neighbor Mr. Spinder insists)—or just plain mysterious—leads him to make some unexpected and profound discoveries about nature. Charlie's irrepressible curiosity forms a poignant contrast with his aging grandfather's quiet wisdom. Blue Sky's unpredictable antics add suspense and humor to the story. Readers will come away from this book inspired to take a closer look at their environment in order to find the kind of unexplainable wonders that Charlie observes during his study of Blue Sky. Ages 9-up. (Sept.)

Reviewed on: 10/04/2004
Release date: 09/01/2004
X
Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Email Address

Password

Log In Lost Password

PW has integrated its print and digital subscriptions, offering exciting new benefits to subscribers, who are now entitled to both the print edition and the digital editions of PW (online or via our app). For instructions on how to set up your accout for digital access, click here. For more information, click here.

The part of the site you are trying to access is now available to subscribers only. Subscribers: to set up your digital subscription with the new system (if you have not done so already), click here. To subscribe, click here.

Email pw@pubservice.com with questions.

Not Registered? Click here.