Medicine for the Earth: How to Transform Personal and Environmental Toxins

Sandra Ingerman, Author
Sandra Ingerman, Author Three Rivers Press (CA) $16 (304p) ISBN 978-0-609-80517-6
Reviewed on: 01/15/2001
Release date: 01/01/2001
Ebook - 179 pages - 978-0-307-55783-4
Show other formats
FORMATS
Based on the conviction that ""we can reverse environmental pollution through spiritual methods,"" Ingerman (A Fall to Grace) coaches readers through inward and outward preparation for performing ""transmutation,"" the channeling of spiritual energy to create positive physical effects. Given the firm belief that it can be done, the inner preparation of spiritual harmony and the creation of sacred space through ceremonial ritual in community with others, Ingerman promises that while pollution should be avoided, it can be dispelled after the fact. Citing the purportedly miraculous cures accomplished with natural water sources allegedly imbued with spiritual energy (e.g. the miracle cures of Lourdes, the parting of the Red Sea and the water that Jesus is said to have turned into wine), Ingerman illustrates her claims with controlled experimentation with water pollution. Her clear, practical exercises call upon a variety of ancient and current resources, including shamanism, to recruit assistance from the spiritual realm in executing her metaphysical prescription for reversing environmental damage: ""intention + love + harmony + union + focus + concentration + imagination = transmutation."" While Ingerman may not convert skeptics, she is highly regarded in New Age circles for her previous work focusing on personal transformation, soul loss, and recalling higher purpose. Fans of Carolyn Myss and Larry Dossey will appreciate her role in spearheading the movement toward using individual spiritual energies to heal the world around us. (Jan. 16)
The Best Books, Emailed Every Week
Tip Sheet!
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X