Sail Away

Donald Crews, Author, Donald Crews, Illustrator Greenwillow Books $17.99 (40p) ISBN 978-0-688-11053-6
In the tradition of Truck and Freight Train, Crews spirits young readers away in an interesting vehicle, this time for a day of sailing. The power in the air and water are palpable as a family rows the dinghy out to board their sailboat and embark on an exciting trip. But when ``clear skies turn cloudy and gray'' and the seas become angry, the crew faces some scary moments. Crews's short phrases and multi-sized typefaces work in tandem to convey a true feeling of motion. In one particularly striking spread, for example, the word ``Whoosh!'' appears in giant letters as the sails are raised; the letters gradually bleach from a nautical blue ``W'' to a brilliant white ``H.'' Sunny blues and greens and lots of crisp white make up an appropriate seafaring palette. Even landlubbers won't be able to resist this invigorating outing. Ages 2-up. (Apr.)
Reviewed on: 04/17/1995
Release date: 04/01/1995
Show other formats
FORMATS
Library Binding - 1 pages - 978-0-688-11054-3
Prebound-Other - 978-0-606-18719-0
Paperback - 40 pages - 978-0-688-17517-7
Prebound-Glued - 40 pages - 978-0-613-28309-0
X
Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Email Address

Password

Log In Lost Password

PW has integrated its print and digital subscriptions, offering exciting new benefits to subscribers, who are now entitled to both the print edition and the digital editions of PW (online or via our app). For instructions on how to set up your accout for digital access, click here. For more information, click here.

The part of the site you are trying to access is now available to subscribers only. Subscribers: to set up your digital subscription with the new system (if you have not done so already), click here. To subscribe, click here.

Email pw@pubservice.com with questions.

Not Registered? Click here.