Killing the Kudu

Carolyn Meyer, Author
Carolyn Meyer, Author Margaret K. McElderry Books $14.95 (202p) ISBN 978-0-689-50508-9
Reviewed on: 10/01/1990
Release date: 10/01/1990
Alex is ambivalent about spending the summer at his grandmother's house: while he relishes the prospect of spending time away from his overprotective mother, he is reluctant to return to the site of the shooting accident that years ago left him paralyzed from the waist down. To complicate matters further, Scott, the cousin whom Alex's mother blames for the shooting, visits the house frequently. An unforeseen element is provided by Claire, a beautiful Irish girl whom Alex's grandmother has hired to care for him. When both boys fall in love with Claire, the consequences are as unexpected as they are inevitable and entirely believable. While Alex's struggles are pivotal, this is no mere ``problem novel'' nor a simple summer romance; rather, it is a memorable group portrait, made vivid by each character's unique background. Meyer lets her players speak for themselves, and the results are fresh, incisive and unpredictable. Fans of Elliott and Win will not be disappointed. Ages 14-up. (Oct.)
The Best Books, Emailed Every Week
Tip Sheet!
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X