Sweet Success

Susan Mallery, Author Pocket Books $7.99 (352p) ISBN 978-0-7434-0595-9
Rich food, especially chocolate confections, receive extensive and loving descriptions in Mallery's latest contemporary romance (Wife in Disguise, etc.). Ali Thomas, owner of a chocolate shop in a small California town, takes in strays of every sort. Unfortunately these have included the unsavory men of her past who never remain in Santa Magdelana long and who have repeatedly betrayed her trust. When handsome but taciturn Matt Baker shows up to renovate Ali's storeroom, the brooding workman becomes the target of her mothering instincts. Although she suspects that her ever-reclusive employee is keeping several dark secrets about his past from her, Ali can't help feeling drawn to him. Likewise, Matt, who has spent a year roaming from place to place and avoiding any sort of personal entanglement, finds himself unable to move on as Ali's warmth begins to help him heal. This slight plot is bolstered by witty dialogue, plenty of romantic tension and delicious characters Ali's mother is a legendary movie star who devotes more time to her ailing pet pig than to her daughter. Fans of Jennifer Crusie, Susan Andersen and the Harlequin Duets line will savor this sugary tale. (May)
Reviewed on: 05/01/2001
Release date: 05/01/2001
X
Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Email Address

Password

Log In Lost Password

PW has integrated its print and digital subscriptions, offering exciting new benefits to subscribers, who are now entitled to both the print edition and the digital editions of PW (online or via our app). For instructions on how to set up your accout for digital access, click here. For more information, click here.

The part of the site you are trying to access is now available to subscribers only. Subscribers: to set up your digital subscription with the new system (if you have not done so already), click here. To subscribe, click here.

Email pw@pubservice.com with questions.

Not Registered? Click here.