Ridicholas Nicholas: More Animal Poems

J. Patrick Lewis, Author, Victoria Chess, Illustrator Dial Books $14.89 (40p) ISBN 978-0-8037-1328-4
Fans of Lewis and Chess's A Hippopotamusn't-and anyone who relishes quick-on-the-draw wordplay-will welcome this captivating companion volume, a menagerie of 33 poems about animals. Here dogs and cats rub haunches with such less domesticated sorts as the Lounge Lizard and Wrong Way Worms. Adroit verses juggle puns and clever rhymes. Consider, for example, the hippo who could never be found ``on the Amazon/ with silky French pajamazon''; or O 2 B A C-Gull (``A/ B-gull/ Chased/ A/ C-gull./ An/ E-gull/ Chased/ A Flea.'') Although most of the entries are light, Lewis sprinkles this volume with a few serious poems and images: the hawk's scream ``cancels out the sky'' and the owl ``will not stir/ Unless she sees/ A rabbit sigh.'' Chess's characteristic off-beat illustrations are less outre than usual, but the glints in her characters' eyes happily betray her own mischievous sensibility. Ages 4-8. (Oct.)
Reviewed on: 10/02/1995
Release date: 10/01/1995
Show other formats
FORMATS
Hardcover - 40 pages - 978-0-8037-1327-7
X
Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Email Address

Password

Log In Lost Password

PW has integrated its print and digital subscriptions, offering exciting new benefits to subscribers, who are now entitled to both the print edition and the digital editions of PW (online or via our app). For instructions on how to set up your accout for digital access, click here. For more information, click here.

The part of the site you are trying to access is now available to subscribers only. Subscribers: to set up your digital subscription with the new system (if you have not done so already), click here. To subscribe, click here.

Email pw@pubservice.com with questions.

Not Registered? Click here.