Smack ; My Life as a Bitch ) novel"/>

DOING IT

Melvin Burgess, Author . Holt $15.95 (326p) ISBN 978-0-8050-7565-6

Fun, peppy and unusually frank (but ultimately sweet-natured), British author Burgess's (Smack ; My Life as a Bitch ) novel starts out with an attention-grabbing scene in which the central characters enjoy a hypothetical discussion about having sex with an array of women that includes a bag lady, classmates, teachers and even the Queen. Once the author establishes the central theme without a shade of a doubt, he briskly outlines each boy's circumstances. Gorgeous charmer Dino is about to plunge into an on-and-off-again romance with top girl Jackie; diffident Jonathon must sort out his feelings about plump (but secretly luscious) Deborah, who clearly fancies him; and Ben gradually realizes he must extricate himself from a relationship with his unstable 20-something teacher. Even the most attention-deficient reader will likely be captivated by the adrenaline-pumped narration told from the points of view of the three boys and assorted other characters (including various girls and even a parent) and skitters between the first and third person. The abundant use of British slang—especially for matters sexual—gives the story an exotic, slightly Austin Powers–like charm and, for an American audience at least, somewhat defuses the explicit nature of the material: it's hard to get worked up about a word like "minge" if you haven't grown up with it. Fans of Louise Rennison's Angus, Thongs books will appreciate the male perspective offered here, while readers of both sexes whose hormones have just begun to simmer will welcome (and even be reassured by) a book that so accurately mirrors their new world view. Ages 16-up. (May)

Reviewed on: 04/26/2004
Release date: 05/01/2004
Show other formats
FORMATS
Paperback - 330 pages - 978-0-14-101803-4
Downloadable Audio - 978-0-7393-5381-3
Analog Audio Cassette - 978-0-8072-2329-1
Compact Disc - 978-0-8072-2328-4
Compact Disc - 978-0-8072-2387-1
Paperback - 326 pages - 978-0-8050-8079-7
Compact Disc - 978-1-4000-8612-2
Paperback - 326 pages - 978-0-312-55135-3
Ebook - 336 pages - 978-1-4299-3609-5
Paperback - 336 pages - 978-1-78344-063-4
X
Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Email Address

Password

Log In Lost Password

PW has integrated its print and digital subscriptions, offering exciting new benefits to subscribers, who are now entitled to both the print edition and the digital editions of PW (online or via our app). For instructions on how to set up your accout for digital access, click here. For more information, click here.

The part of the site you are trying to access is now available to subscribers only. Subscribers: to set up your digital subscription with the new system (if you have not done so already), click here. To subscribe, click here.

Email pw@pubservice.com with questions.

Not Registered? Click here.