Soul & Spice

Heidi Haughy Cusick, Author, Heidi Haughy Dickerson, Author, Chronicle Books, Author Chronicle Books $16.95 (0p) ISBN 978-0-8118-0419-6
In the tradition of Jessica Harris's 1989 Iron Pots and Wooden Spoons, Cusick delves into the legacy of African immigrant cooking styles, tracing, for instance, the transformation of fiery rice-based melanges into Creole jambalayas and South Carolina pilaus, or sawyer from Cameroon and michui from Togo into our familiar barbecue. While providing soul-satisfying and user-friendly recipes (Pickled Fish, Meat and Black Bean Stew, Sweet Milk Pudding), Cusick also establishes clear-cut cultural links between Old World and New. Recipes are organized by style of food (Soul Food, Barbecue, Louisiana Creole); place of origin (Bahia, Brazil, the Caribbean); and the people who brought them to America (Recent African Immigrants). They are also accompanied by sidebars and notes of historical and personal importance. A glossary and a listing of specialty and mail order markets round out this welcome and authentic tribute to the diverse heritage of African cooking. (May)
Reviewed on: 02/27/1995
Release date: 03/01/1995
Show other formats
FORMATS
X
Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Email Address

Password

Log In Lost Password

PW has integrated its print and digital subscriptions, offering exciting new benefits to subscribers, who are now entitled to both the print edition and the digital editions of PW (online or via our app). For instructions on how to set up your accout for digital access, click here. For more information, click here.

The part of the site you are trying to access is now available to subscribers only. Subscribers: to set up your digital subscription with the new system (if you have not done so already), click here. To subscribe, click here.

Email pw@pubservice.com with questions.

Not Registered? Click here.