Soul & Spice

Heidi Haughy Cusick, Author, Heidi Haughy Dickerson, Author, Chronicle Books, Author
Heidi Haughy Cusick, Author, Heidi Haughy Dickerson, Author, Chronicle Books, Author Chronicle Books $16.95 (0p) ISBN 978-0-8118-0419-6
Reviewed on: 02/27/1995
Release date: 03/01/1995
Show other formats
FORMATS
In the tradition of Jessica Harris's 1989 Iron Pots and Wooden Spoons, Cusick delves into the legacy of African immigrant cooking styles, tracing, for instance, the transformation of fiery rice-based melanges into Creole jambalayas and South Carolina pilaus, or sawyer from Cameroon and michui from Togo into our familiar barbecue. While providing soul-satisfying and user-friendly recipes (Pickled Fish, Meat and Black Bean Stew, Sweet Milk Pudding), Cusick also establishes clear-cut cultural links between Old World and New. Recipes are organized by style of food (Soul Food, Barbecue, Louisiana Creole); place of origin (Bahia, Brazil, the Caribbean); and the people who brought them to America (Recent African Immigrants). They are also accompanied by sidebars and notes of historical and personal importance. A glossary and a listing of specialty and mail order markets round out this welcome and authentic tribute to the diverse heritage of African cooking. (May)
The Best Books, Emailed Every Week
Tip Sheet!
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X