Peoples and Empi"/>

Worlds at War: The 2,500-Year Struggle Between East and West

Anthony Pagden, Author . Random $29.95 (625p) ISBN 978-1-4000-6067-2

In the pessimistic words of the ancient historian Herodotus, there will ever be “perpetual enmity” between the globe’s two halves. Pagden (Peoples and Empires ), a professor of political science and history at UCLA, tackles the immense sweep of 2,500 years of bad blood and seeks to explain the feud’s continuing existence despite the increasing erosion of national differences. Does the trouble have geographical roots, or might it stem from religious differences? Pagden is convinced that in fact East and West are separated more by values and culture than by anything else—democratic vs. authoritarian rule, secular vs. theocratic and, later, Christian vs. Muslim. Though some readers might cavil at Pagden’s reductionist assertion that religion has “caused more lasting harm to the human race than any other single set of beliefs,” his book is an accessible and lucid exploration of the history of the East-West split, concluding with a nuanced look at the divisions and misapprehensions that continue to the present time. Fans of Jacques Barzun and Jared Diamond will be most impressed by Pagden’s “big picture” perspective. (Mar. 4)

Reviewed on: 11/12/2007
Release date: 03/01/2008
Show other formats
FORMATS
Pre-Recorded Audio Player - 978-1-60812-814-3
Paperback - 576 pages - 978-0-19-956977-9
Peanut Press/Palm Reader - 978-1-58836-678-8
Hardcover - 548 pages - 978-0-19-923743-2
MP3 CD - 978-1-4001-5629-0
Compact Disc - 978-1-4001-3629-2
Compact Disc - 978-1-4001-0629-5
Paperback - 625 pages - 978-0-8129-6890-3
X
Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Email Address

Password

Log In Lost Password

PW has integrated its print and digital subscriptions, offering exciting new benefits to subscribers, who are now entitled to both the print edition and the digital editions of PW (online or via our app). For instructions on how to set up your accout for digital access, click here. For more information, click here.

The part of the site you are trying to access is now available to subscribers only. Subscribers: to set up your digital subscription with the new system (if you have not done so already), click here. To subscribe, click here.

Email pw@pubservice.com with questions.

Not Registered? Click here.