The Lost Island: A Gideon Crew Novel

Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. Grand Central, $27 (368p) ISBN 978-1-4555-2577-5
In Preston and Child’s sparkling third Gideon Crew novel (after 2012’s Gideon’s Corpse), Eli Glinn of Effective Engineering Solutions orders Crew to steal the Book of Kells, “the finest illuminated book in existence,” from New York’s Morgan Library, where it’s on loan from the Irish government—and protected by a highly sophisticated security system. When the success of this nearly impossible mission reveals a treasure map with links to ancient Greek history, Glinn sends Gideon and Amy, another operative in his employ, on a jaunt to the Caribbean. There Gideon and Amy, who briefly poses as his wife, face dangers from treasure hunters, nature, and an erosion of trust in each other. Gideon refreshingly doesn’t fit the superhero mold, and the enigmatic Amy is more than his equal in daring and intelligence. Fans of H. Rider Haggard and Edgar Rice Burroughs will find a lot to like. Agent: Eric Simonoff, William Morris Endeavor. (Aug.)
Reviewed on: 05/12/2014
Release date: 08/05/2014
X
Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Email Address

Password

Log In Lost Password

PW has integrated its print and digital subscriptions, offering exciting new benefits to subscribers, who are now entitled to both the print edition and the digital editions of PW (online or via our app). For instructions on how to set up your accout for digital access, click here. For more information, click here.

The part of the site you are trying to access is now available to subscribers only. Subscribers: to set up your digital subscription with the new system (if you have not done so already), click here. To subscribe, click here.

Email pw@pubservice.com with questions.

Not Registered? Click here.