Some Great Thing ) delivers suspense and cunning psychologic"/>
 

Fall

Colin McAdam, Author
Colin McAdam, Author . Riverhead $25.95 (360p) ISBN 978-1-59448-868-9
Reviewed on: 04/20/2009
Release date: 06/01/2009
Paperback - 368 pages - 978-1-61695-542-7
Open Ebook - 336 pages - 978-1-4090-7686-5
Downloadable Audio - 978-1-4561-1244-8
Hardcover - 325 pages - 978-0-224-08783-4
Paperback - 367 pages - 978-0-14-305534-1
Paperback - 325 pages - 978-0-09-953546-1
Peanut Press/Palm Reader - 368 pages - 978-1-101-05196-2
Open Ebook - 368 pages - 978-1-101-05170-2
Paperback - 360 pages - 978-1-59448-464-3
Open Ebook - 368 pages - 978-1-101-05274-7
Hardcover - 358 pages - 978-0-670-06720-6
Show other formats
FORMATS

A tense literary whodunit set in a prestigious Canadian boarding school, McAdam's second novel (after Some Great Thing ) delivers suspense and cunning psychological insight. Chapters alternate between the recollections of Noel, a coldly intelligent loner, and the stream-of-consciousness of Julius, a handsome, popular athlete whose girlfriend, Fall, vanishes one day. Unstated but implicit is Fall's fate at the hands of one of the boys, but, as in many literary mysteries, the plot is secondary to the graceful prose and characterizations. The male characters are drawn with precision; Fall less so, as befits their objectification of her, though the relationship between Fall and Julius is depicted with a bittersweet charm. Julius's point of view is particularly well-done, conveying the inner turmoil of a lovestruck teenager. Noel's memories of their senior year, meanwhile, subtly reflect his emotional distance from others while suggesting a solution to the crime. The book is pleasingly paced and absorbing, and likely to appeal to fans of Arturo Perez-Reverte and Jess Walter. (June)

The Best Books, Emailed Every Week
Tip Sheet!
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X