Some Great Thing ) delivers suspense and cunning psychologic"/>

Fall

Colin McAdam, Author . Riverhead $25.95 (360p) ISBN 978-1-59448-868-9

A tense literary whodunit set in a prestigious Canadian boarding school, McAdam's second novel (after Some Great Thing ) delivers suspense and cunning psychological insight. Chapters alternate between the recollections of Noel, a coldly intelligent loner, and the stream-of-consciousness of Julius, a handsome, popular athlete whose girlfriend, Fall, vanishes one day. Unstated but implicit is Fall's fate at the hands of one of the boys, but, as in many literary mysteries, the plot is secondary to the graceful prose and characterizations. The male characters are drawn with precision; Fall less so, as befits their objectification of her, though the relationship between Fall and Julius is depicted with a bittersweet charm. Julius's point of view is particularly well-done, conveying the inner turmoil of a lovestruck teenager. Noel's memories of their senior year, meanwhile, subtly reflect his emotional distance from others while suggesting a solution to the crime. The book is pleasingly paced and absorbing, and likely to appeal to fans of Arturo Perez-Reverte and Jess Walter. (June)

Reviewed on: 04/20/2009
Release date: 06/01/2009
Show other formats
FORMATS
Paperback - 360 pages - 978-1-59448-464-3
Hardcover - 358 pages - 978-0-670-06720-6
Paperback - 325 pages - 978-0-09-953546-1
Open Ebook - 336 pages - 978-1-4090-7686-5
Open Ebook - 368 pages - 978-1-101-05274-7
Peanut Press/Palm Reader - 368 pages - 978-1-101-05196-2
Open Ebook - 368 pages - 978-1-101-05170-2
Downloadable Audio - 978-1-4561-1244-8
Hardcover - 325 pages - 978-0-224-08783-4
Paperback - 367 pages - 978-0-14-305534-1
X
Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Email Address

Password

Log In Lost Password

PW has integrated its print and digital subscriptions, offering exciting new benefits to subscribers, who are now entitled to both the print edition and the digital editions of PW (online or via our app). For instructions on how to set up your accout for digital access, click here. For more information, click here.

The part of the site you are trying to access is now available to subscribers only. Subscribers: to set up your digital subscription with the new system (if you have not done so already), click here. To subscribe, click here.

Email pw@pubservice.com with questions.

Not Registered? Click here.