The Fecund's Melancholy Daughter

Brent Hayward. ChiZine (Diamond, dist.), $15.95 trade paper (244p) ISBN 978-1-926851-13-6
In this ambitious novel, Hayward (Filaria) traces the lives of the eccentric, often grotesque characters who inhabit the ancient, labyrinthine city of Nowy Solum. The aging chatelaine devotes more time to her multiple sexual partners and her pets than to the city she rules. Her father, the castellan, amuses himself by torturing sentient animals. The fecund, a monstrous being imprisoned in the city's depths, philosophizes and bears equally monstrous children for the chatelaine's cages. When the chatelaine upsets the social order by taking in Octavia, an ostracized child born with syruplike melancholy in her veins rather than blood, she begins a slow cascade of events that sends the city hurtling toward destruction. Beautifully written and morally ambivalent, this complex tale will appeal to readers of Gene Wolfe and China Miéville. (June)
Reviewed on: 04/25/2011
Release date: 05/01/2011
Show other formats
FORMATS
Ebook - 245 pages - 978-1-926851-96-9
X
Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Email Address

Password

Log In Lost Password

PW has integrated its print and digital subscriptions, offering exciting new benefits to subscribers, who are now entitled to both the print edition and the digital editions of PW (online or via our app). For instructions on how to set up your accout for digital access, click here. For more information, click here.

The part of the site you are trying to access is now available to subscribers only. Subscribers: to set up your digital subscription with the new system (if you have not done so already), click here. To subscribe, click here.

Email pw@pubservice.com with questions.

Not Registered? Click here.