Ford County

John Grisham, Author Doubleday $24 (308p) ISBN 978-0-385-53245-7
Returning to the setting of his first novel, A Time to Kill, longtime bestseller Grisham presents seven short stories about the residents of Ford County, Miss. Each story explores different themes-mourning, revenge, justice, acceptance, evolution-but all flirt with the legal profession, the staple of (former attorney) Grisham's oeuvre. Fans will be excited to settle back into Grisham's world, and these easily digestible stories don't disappoint, despite their brevity. Full of strong characters, simple but resonant plotlines, and charming Southern accents, this collection is solid throughout; though his literary aspirations may seem quaint, Grisham succeeds admirably in his crowd-pleasing craft while avoiding pat endings or oversimplifying (perhaps best exemplified in ""Michael's Room,"" which finds a lawyer facing the consequences of successfully defending a doctor against a malpractice suit). As always, Grisham balances his lawyerly preoccupations with a deep respect for his undereducated and overlooked characters.
Reviewed on: 11/02/2009
Release date: 11/01/2009
Compact Disc - 1 pages - 978-1-84657-246-3
Hardcover - 308 pages - 978-1-84605-713-7
Paperback - 448 pages - 978-0-7393-7738-3
Downloadable Audio - 978-0-307-70213-5
Ebook - 180 pages - 978-0-307-57620-0
Mass Market Paperbound - 356 pages
Paperback - 308 pages - 978-1-84605-730-4
Compact Disc - 7 pages - 978-0-307-70210-4
Paperback - 324 pages
Compact Disc - 978-0-307-70212-8
Hardcover - 320 pages - 978-0-385-53340-9
Open Ebook - 352 pages - 978-1-4070-5907-5
Show other formats
The Best Books, Emailed Every Week
Tip Sheet!