The Other Child

Charlotte Link, Author
Charlotte Link, trans. from the German by Stefan Tobler. Pegasus Crime (Norton, dist.), $25.95 (416p) ISBN 978-1-60598-430-8
Hardcover - 410 pages - 978-1-4091-2337-8
Paperback - 410 pages - 978-1-4091-2338-5
Open Ebook - 1 pages - 978-1-306-62123-6
Paperback - 410 pages - 978-1-60598-558-9
Paperback - 416 pages - 978-1-4091-3929-4
Downloadable Audio - 978-1-62064-965-7
Open Ebook - 419 pages - 978-1-299-97089-2
Portable Document Format (PDF) - 416 pages - 978-1-4804-1900-1
Hardcover - 1 pages - 978-1-62460-318-1
Ebook - 416 pages - 978-1-4532-9860-2
Show other formats
FORMATS
Link, a bestseller in her native Germany, makes her U.S. debut with a sophisticated and thoughtful mystery set in England. After an ominous prologue, in which a woman stumbles across an unnamed secret on a remote farm in Yorkshire in 1970, the action shifts to 2008 in the same area. College student Amy Mills leaves a babysitting gig late at night to travel home, only to find her regular, relatively safe route blocked off, which proves to be a prelude to her brutal killing. Both incidents recede into the background as Link presents a large cast of characters drawn together by the engagement of Gwen Beckett, a wallflower whose fiancé is viewed as only being after the farm she’s due to inherit. More death follows, with the motive possibly linked to Gwen’s father’s disturbing past and the tragic fallout from the evacuation of children from London during the Blitz. Fans of Ruth Rendell and Minette Walters will be enthralled. (Apr.)
The Best Books, Emailed Every Week
Tip Sheet!
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X