A Snake Mistake

Marvis Smith, Author, Mavis Smith, Author HarperCollins Publishers $15.89 (32p) ISBN 978-0-06-107426-4
The Amazing Animal Reader series cleverly blends fact and fiction in amusing animal stories that young children can read independently. In the first volume, Jake the Snake raids the chicken coop after Farmer Henry has put light bulbs in the chickens' nests to entice them to lay more eggs. Having consumed the less-than-tasty fare, Jake feels awful. When Farmer Henry discovers the ailing snake, he saves Jake by rushing him to a veterinarian's office. The second book concerns two aging lobsters that are snared and brought to Rhode Island, soon to become someone's lavish meal. But when customers see the crustaceans in captivity, they picket for the lobsters' release. Following each story is a brief list of suggested activities--``Write an amazing story about a pet you know''; ``Draw pictures of your favorite snakes.'' Smith's brightly colored, appealing illustrations, coupled with the comical animal capers, make this series a winner. Ages 4-8. (June)
Reviewed on: 06/03/1991
Release date: 06/01/1991
Genre: Children's
Discover what to read next