Before She Ignites

Jodi Meadows. HarperCollins/Tegen, $17.99 (496p) ISBN 978-0-06-246940-3
In this first book in the Fallen Isles trilogy, a young woman who is looked upon as the heart of her seven-island nation must stand up for what she believes after being bitterly betrayed. When 17-year-old Mira Minkoba discovers governmental treachery, she speaks out and is sent to the Pit, the most notorious prison in the Fallen Isles. At the mercy of Altan, a vicious guard with an agenda, Mira works to survive in order to save the dragons she loves and trains, see her family and friends again, and protect new allies she makes in prison. The narrative shifts between Mira’s harrowing time in the Pit and her pampered former life; Meadows (the Orphan Queen series) doesn’t instantly transform her into a ready-to-fight warrior, and she portrays acutely Mira’s insecurities about not living up to the demands of her station or to her mother’s expectations. Meadows leaves room to flesh out Mira’s island world in future books while exploring issues of inclusivity and discrimination. Fans of Naomi Novik’s Temeraire series or Julie Kagawa’s Talon books will be delighted. Ages 13–up. Agent: Lauren Macleod, Strothman Agency. (Sept.)
Reviewed on: 07/03/2017
Release date: 09/01/2017
Genre: Children's
Ebook - 496 pages - 978-0-06-246942-7
Show other formats
Discover what to read next