Grace and Fury

Tracy Banghart. Little, Brown, $17.99 (320p) ISBN 978-0-316-47141-1
Serina Tessaro has trained her entire life to be a Grace, chosen by the heir to the throne of Viridia to be held as “the highest standard of beauty, elegance, and obedience. What all little girls were meant to aspire to.” Her sister Nomi, two years younger, has reluctantly trained to be her handmaiden. Being selected as a Grace is the only way Serina and Nomi can escape a life of drudgery. Shockingly, Nomi is chosen as a Grace, leaving Serina to take the fall for Nomi’s thievery from the palace library. Desperate to find allies and locate Serina, Nomi uncovers a little-known truth about the history of their world and its subjugation of women. Meanwhile, Serina must find a way to survive Mount Ruin, a dangerous prison where women are forced to compete in death matches. Though Banghart’s debut may seem familiar, she breathes new life into this feminist story of oppression and resistance. The sisters, whose personalities seem predictable at first, shift and grow, adding depth to each character. Fans of Keira Cass and Marie Rutkoski will be drawn to this absorbing story and left eager for another installment. Ages 14–up. Agents: Joelle Hobeika and Eliza Swift, Alloy Entertainment. (July)
Reviewed on: 05/14/2018
Release date: 07/01/2018
Paperback - 320 pages - 978-0-316-47142-8
Compact Disc - 978-1-5491-7261-8
Compact Disc - 978-1-5491-7258-8
Pre-Recorded Audio Player - 978-1-5491-7260-1
Show other formats
FORMATS
Discover what to read next
TIP SHEET
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X
X