Box 21

Anders Roslund, Author, Borge Hellstrom, Author , trans. from the Swedish. Crichton/FSG $26 (393p) ISBN 978-0-374-28295-0

The Swedish writing team of Roslund and Hellström make their U.S. debut with a remarkable tale of loss, addiction and revenge set in Stockholm's seedy underworld. Ewert Grens, a veteran detective, is haunted by a tragic incident that occurred 25 years earlier that left his young wife, a fellow police officer, an invalid. When the man responsible, notorious criminal Jochum Lang, is released from prison, Grens vows to put him away for life. Meanwhile, the detective arrives at a crime scene where a teenage prostitute, Lydia Grajauskas, has been nearly beaten to death by her Russian pimp. Alternating chapters fill in the backstory of Lydia and Alena Sljusareva, girls lured away from Lithuania under false pretenses and sold as sex slaves. In a bizarre twist, Lydia escapes from her hospital bed and ends up taking hostages. This taut and nuanced thriller should appeal to fans of Mo Hayder, Denise Mina and, of course, Henning Mankell. (Oct.)

Reviewed on: 08/10/2009
Release date: 10/01/2009
Genre: Fiction
Pre-Recorded Audio Player - 978-1-4558-4483-8
Ebook - 400 pages - 978-1-4299-9002-8
Paperback - 389 pages - 978-0-312-65534-1
Compact Disc - 978-1-4558-2741-1
MP3 CD - 978-1-4558-2738-1
Compact Disc - 978-1-4558-2737-4
MP3 CD - 978-1-5113-0987-5
Show other formats
FORMATS
Discover what to read next
TIP SHEET
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X
X