Autumn Princess, Dragon Child

Lian Hearn. Farrar, Straus and Giroux, $14 trade paper (288p) ISBN 978-0-374-53632-9
This second volume of the Tale of Shikanoko quartet by Hearn (following Emperor of the Eight Islands) builds upon the magic and conflict of its predecessor. Hearn takes cultural elements from medieval Japan and uses them to create this wonderful fantasy realm, complete with its own supernatural forces. Shikanoko, now freed from the control of the evil Prince Abbot, stumbles in a haze back to the Darkwood, where he once again encounters mountain sorcerer Shisoku and the mysterious Lady Tora. Tora dies soon after giving birth to five spider children, boys with special powers who emerge from cocoons and whom Shikanoko must raise. Aki, the Autumn Princess, hides in the forest with Yoshimori, the true imperial heir, while she tries to determine how they will survive and where they will go next to avoid the men of Lord Aritomo, the usurper. Meanwhile the schemer and turncoat Masachika tries to advance himself in any way he can, whether through battle, espionage, or blackmail. Scoundrels and innocents, wizards and itinerant performers, lowly servants and mighty nobles all play their parts on this stage. (June)
Reviewed on: 07/25/2016
Release date: 06/01/2016
Genre: Fiction
Compact Disc - 978-1-68168-154-2
Ebook - 978-0-374-71502-1
Show other formats
Discover what to read next