A Cape Cod Journal

Erma J. Fisk, Author, Louise B. Russell, Illustrator W. W. Norton & Company $19.95 (304p) ISBN 978-0-393-02858-4
Readers who enjoyed Fisk's The Peacocks of Baboquivari and Parrots' Wood will also take pleasure in her account of adjusting to famous-author status as she continues her work as a serious bird hobbyist. Business with her publisher was conducted exclusively by mail and telephone, we learn; she had only a mental image of her editor until she sent her granddaughter to photograph him. As this journal attests, Fisk, despite increasing physical frailties, remained active until her recent death: she banded birds, led bird tours, lectured widely, did her own housework, visited friends, wrote a novel (rejected). Her journal is a charming melange of day-to-day activities, observations of nature, small adventures and reminiscences. Illustrations not seen by PW . (Aug.)
Reviewed on: 10/31/1990
Release date: 11/01/1990
Discover what to read next
TIP SHEET
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X
X