Harry's Smile

Kathy Caple, Author Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (HMH) $13.95 (32p) ISBN 978-0-395-43417-8
Fans of The Biggest Nose and The Purse admire the slightly goofy but lovable expressions of Caple's characters. Funny watercolor scenes of Harry and his good friend Sam will not disappoint readers, although a weak plot certainly takes off some of the shine. Harry has a pen pal, Wilma, who has included a photo of herself in her latest letter. And she wants a picture of Harry. But when Harry gets his photo taken, he worries; he thinks he has an oafish smile and vows never to smile again. Sam sends for Wilma, who arrives, snaps a photos and shows Harry what good friends are all about. The story loses momentum with the arrival of Wilma; if she's so handy, why are they pen pals? But the tidy lesson of friendship is well served by good intentions, and young readers will like Harry and pals. Ages 4-8. (September)
Reviewed on: 09/01/1987
Release date: 09/01/1987
Discover what to read next
TIP SHEET
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X
X