About a Dog

Jenn McKinlay. Berkley, $7.99 mass market (320p) ISBN 978-0-399-58471-8
McKinlay, best known for cozy mysteries (Better Late than Never), skillfully handles the transition to romantic comedy in a series opener set in present-day small-town New England. Mackenzie Harris hasn’t been back to Bluff Point, Maine, since she was dramatically left at the altar by her fiancé, and she’s only returning now to fulfill maid of honor duties for her best friend Emma. The only secret Mac keeps from her best friend is that after being dumped she slept with Emma’s younger brother, Gavin—and seven years later, attentive, handsome Gavin is her escort for the wedding. When sparks begin to fly, Mac tries to remember she is a no-nonsense accountant who’s only home for two weeks, but the sexy veterinarian and an irresistible dog have other ideas. McKinlay’s novel is a refreshing change from predictable return-to-hometown-and-reconcile-with-ex stories. Despite the lack of real conflict, the story has charm and appeal, due to well-drawn characters with enjoyable personalities. Fans of Jill Shalvis, Kristan Higgins, and Kate Angell will enjoy this romance and look forward to future installments. Agent: Christina Hogrebe, Jane Rotrosen Agency. (June)
Reviewed on: 05/29/2017
Release date: 05/30/2017
Genre: Fiction
Compact Disc - 978-1-5200-7301-9
MP3 CD - 978-1-5200-7305-7
Library Binding - 500 pages - 978-1-68324-499-8
Show other formats
FORMATS
Discover what to read next
TIP SHEET
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X
X