Can't Stop Us Now

Lantz, Author, Fran Lantz, Author Laurel Leaf Library $2.75 (0p) ISBN 978-0-440-91098-5
The first book in the new Overnight Sensation series has fully realized characters, an involving plot and themes that should be of interest to teens. Four girls audition for an all-girl rock group. Robin, an aspiring songwriter who plays the guitar, has always wanted to be in a band, even if rock 'n' roll leaves her no time for her boyfriend. C.C. is a blond debutante with a craving for a wilder style, and a singing voice to match. Gail, a classical pianist, is just along to help a friend try out. And Annette, who loves to drum, needs the band to gain independence from her family. Manager Reg selects them to form C.C. and the Seniors; fame seems just around the corner, but Reg is trying to create a teenybopper image for them that they dislike. He tries to coerce them into signing one-sided contracts, and sleeps with C.C., years his junior. The girls revolt on Reg, and start their own band called Overnight Sensation, deciding that limited success, on their own, is preferable to any of Reg's promises. There are some romantic conflicts in the plot, but the story focuses on four individuals who have set certain standards for themselves and intend to keep them. (12up)
Reviewed on: 04/01/1986
Release date: 04/01/1986
Genre: Nonfiction
Discover what to read next