Eric Jerome Dickey, Author . Dutton $23.95 (0p) ISBN 978-0-525-94724-0

Plans for revenge spin out of control in this sharp-edged, sizzling novel by bestselling Dickey (Liar's Game; Between Lovers). The unnamed narrator has it all—a loving husband, a beautiful home and a lucrative career as a television producer in Los Angeles. Although she works long hours, she knows that she and her husband, Charles, a middle-school teacher, depend on her earnings to live the good life. Upon receiving strange messages at work from a mysterious man named David Lawrence, she assumes that he is a media-hungry stalker. But when David finally reaches her, he tells her that her husband has been having an affair with his wife, Jessica. The reporter in her takes over, and she immediately confronts Charles, who admits that he had an affair with Jessica, but says it is over. Confused, angry and in complete shock, she demands that Charles give her the intimate details of the affair; he refuses. "And I'm supposed to accept that?... My marriage is supposed to be my place of solace, not a place of fucking grief, and my husband is supposed to my friend, not my fucking enemy. Choose which one you wanna be." Unwilling to go on without answers to her many questions, she soon finds herself commiserating with David Lawrence. As the pieces of the puzzle come together, her world falls apart and she finds herself desperate for revenge. But will revenge heal her tattered soul or destroy her completely? Dickey offers plenty of straight-on sex and violence, but also probes questions of contemporary morals and the psychology of betrayal, writing compellingly and believably from his heroine's point of view. This will be another crowd pleaser. Agent, Sara Camilli. Major ad/promo; author tour. (May 12)

Reviewed on: 04/14/2003
Release date: 05/01/2003
Genre: Fiction
Open Ebook - 336 pages - 978-1-101-14149-6
Open Ebook - 336 pages - 978-1-101-14241-7
Analog Audio Cassette - 978-0-06-052463-0
Paperback - 304 pages - 978-1-873262-13-9
Compact Disc - 7 pages - 978-0-7927-2895-5
Hardcover - 447 pages - 978-0-7862-5732-4
Paperback - 336 pages - 978-0-451-21193-4
Analog Audio Cassette - 6 pages - 978-0-7927-2894-8
Show other formats
Discover what to read next