Blythewood

Carol Goodman. Viking, $17.99 (496p) ISBN 978-0-670-78476-9
In this atmospheric period piece set in 1911–12, a teenage factory girl is sent to her mother's alma mater, an elite girls' school located in upstate New York. There, Avaline Hall discovers that the girls of Blythewood Academy are secretly trained to work magic in order to fight off the dangers of Faerie, including winged Darklings and treacherous lampsprites. As Avaline unravels the mysteries of Blythewood, her own unrealized potential, and her deceased mother's tragic past, she grasps a larger picture, one in which the Fae may not be all evil. Goodman (Arcadia Falls) delivers a beautifully evocative tale perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Tiffany Trent. First in a trilogy, Goodman's story is intriguing, romantic, eerie, and adventurous, with the narrative wrapped around fairy tales and historical events, such as the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory fire. Some of the supernatural framework may be familiar, but Goodman's integration of social causes and philosophy of the era—notably workers' and women's rights, as well as the roles of superstition, science, and reason—lead to a multifaceted and mature fantasy. Ages 12–up. Agent: Robin Rue, Writers House. (Oct.)
Reviewed on: 10/14/2013
Release date: 10/01/2013
Genre: Children's
Paperback - 506 pages - 978-0-14-242251-9
Show other formats
FORMATS
Discover what to read next
TIP SHEET
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X
X