Seasons in Flight

Brian Wilson Aldiss, Author Atheneum Books $0 (157p) ISBN 978-0-689-11538-7
Many SF authors devote their careers to rewriting the same bookwith great acclaim from fans. Aldiss's continued growth and experimentation have exasperated certain devotees but have exhilarated many other readers. Now, after his long, magnificent Helliconia trilogy, Aldiss offers a short book of enigmatic fables. Many of these describe a conflict or friction between two cultures, classes or towns that ends in fruitless strife or mutual consternation. The moral message of conciliation and understanding is repeatedly undercut by the sad reminder of selfish human nature. Only one entry breaks free from this limited format: ""The Girl Who Sang,'' which is alone here in creating characters and a specific, evocative background (it is set in the world of the Helliconia novels). A minor if intriguing book from a major writer. January 22
Reviewed on: 01/01/1984
Release date: 01/01/1984
Genre: Fiction
Discover what to read next