The Cost of Betrayal

Dee Henderson, Dani Pettrey, and Lynette Eason. Bethany House, $15.99 trade paper (384p) ISBN 978-0-7642-3173-5
Henderson (Traces of Guilt), Pettrey (Dead Drift), and Eason (Called to Protect) come together for an exciting trio of suspense novellas concerning betrayal and the healing powers of faith. In Henderson’s “Betrayed,” Ann Falcon purchases a small box at auction that contains a pink knife with the name Janelle Roberts on the blade. After Ann discovers that Janelle is in prison for murder after being convicted with circumstantial evidence, she and her FBI agent husband, Paul, succeed in clearing her name. But Janelle’s release opens up the possibility of the actual murderer coming to find her. In Pettrey’s “Deadly Isle,” Tennyson “Teni” Kent goes back to her childhood home, Talbot Island, after breaking off her engagement, but her cousin dies in a mysterious drowning on the day she returns. When Teni barely escapes an explosion inside her childhood home, her former sweetheart, Callen Frost, is convinced a murderer is on the loose. In Eason’s “Code of Ethics,” trauma surgeon Ruthie St. John is helping detective Isaac Martinez recover after he was shot; he thinks the shooter was another police office trying to cover up a crime. When another attempt is made on his life, Ruthie and Isaac flee. Though faith remains only an undercurrent throughout, Christian readers looking for fast-paced crime drama will enjoy this medley of novellas. (Sept.)
Reviewed on: 09/03/2018
Release date: 09/01/2018
Genre: Fiction
Paperback - 514 pages - 978-0-7642-3306-7
Hardcover - 384 pages - 978-0-7642-3177-3
Library Binding - 978-1-4328-5665-6
Show other formats
Discover what to read next