Forget This Ever Happened

Cassandra Rose Clarke. Holiday House, $18.99 (336p) ISBN 978-0-82344-608-7
Small-town politics, weird creatures, and LGBTQ first love elevate this fast-paced piece of speculative horror from nostalgic homage to gleeful update. It’s 1993, and 17-year-old Claire Whitmore is stuck in her mother’s retrograde hometown of Indianola, Tex., for the summer, caring for her chronically ill grandmother. But when furred lizard-creatures speak to her in the backyard, Claire learns about the town’s secret: the monster colony in its old power plant, whose reality-bending powers force anyone leaving Indianola to forget them. But as Polish American Claire and 17-year-old Mexican American monster exterminator Julie Alvarez investigate the monsters’ interest in Claire—as well as a cheerful, ominous neighbor—they discover the buried connection between their families, a hidden love affair, and the truth behind Indianola’s monsters. Clarke (Star’s End) unfolds the town’s mystery with a compulsively building menace, while delightfully alien monsters, sweet queer representation, and a riot grrrl soundtrack keep even tense moments fun. Fans of Brenna Yovanoff, Christopher Pike, and Stranger Things will enjoy this light, smart thriller. Ages 14–up. (Oct.)
Reviewed on : 09/10/2020
Release date: 10/06/2020
Genre: Children's
Paperback - 320 pages - 978-0-8234-5129-6
Show other formats
FORMATS
Discover what to read next
TIP SHEET
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X
X