I Hate Everyone But You

Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin. Wednesday, $18.99 (352p) ISBN 978-1-250-12932-1
YouTubers Dunn and Raskin craft a humorous look at friendship and college life in their debut novel, told through emails and text messages exchanged between two best friends and college freshman. Gen Goldman, a journalism major, and Ava Helmer, a film major, are attending schools on opposite sides of the country, but they correspond constantly, updating each other about events and thoughts both mundane and profound, as well as seeking advice on how to handle their increasingly complicated social and sex lives. Fans of Dunn and Raskin’s YouTube channel, “Just Between Us,” will probably recognize the authors’ influence on their heroines, but Ava and Gen stand on their own as multifaceted characters. The tension between neurotic Ava and uninhibited Gen regarding sex and sexuality is especially engrossing; Ava’s many missteps regarding Gen’s sexual experimentation can be cringe-worthy, but they lead to meaningful conversations and growth. Thanks to the rapid-fire exchanges between the girls, it’s a fast-moving celebration of a friendship transformed by distance, change, and burgeoning maturity, but still stubbornly strong. Ages 14–up. Agent: Sasha Raskin, United Talent Agency. (Sept.)
Reviewed on: 07/10/2017
Release date: 09/05/2017
Genre: Children's
Ebook - 1 pages - 978-1-250-12934-5
Paperback - 368 pages - 978-1-250-12933-8
MP3 CD - 978-1-5436-7420-0
Show other formats
FORMATS
Discover what to read next
TIP SHEET
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X
X