Take a Chance on Me

Susan May Warren. Tyndale House, $13.99 trade paper (416p) ISBN 978-1-4143-7841-1
Warren (The Shadow of Your Smile) returns to the rugged landscape of Deep Haven, Minn., with a spin-off series featuring the Christiansen family. Widower Darek Christiansen is mortified at having to fill in for his hockey-star brother at a charity bachelor auction. Ivy Madison, the new assistant county attorney, moved to Deep Haven in search of the stability that seemed to elude her. She impulsively places the winning bid, unaware of Darek’s past. Darek is equally oblivious to Ivy’s association with Jensen Atwood, a man linked to the death of Darek’s wife. The sons of two well-respected Deep Haven families, Darek and Jensen barely tolerate one another, though once they were best friends. As a romance blossoms between Darek and Ivy, she soon realizes that her connection to Jensen could be the undoing of any future for her budding relationship. Warren lays bare her characters’ human frailties, including fear, grief, and resentment, as openly as she details their virtues of love, devotion, and resiliency. She has crafted an engaging tale of romance, rivalry, and the power of forgiveness. Agent: Steve Laube, Steve Laube Agency (Apr.)
Reviewed on: 02/25/2013
Release date: 04/01/2013
Genre: Fiction
Hardcover - 463 pages - 978-1-61173-781-3
Open Ebook - 416 pages - 978-1-4143-8601-0
Show other formats
Discover what to read next