An Enchantment of Ravens

Margaret Rogerson. S&S/McElderry, $17.99 (304p) ISBN 978-1-4814-9758-9
Seventeen-year-old Isobel is a master of her “Craft”—painting portraits—in the town of Whimsy, where it is always summer and which borders the forest where the “fair folk” have their kingdoms. When the fairies’ autumn prince, Rook, requests a portrait, Isobel’s world is upended. Petulant and beautiful Rook, whose eyes hold “sorrow, as raw as an open wound,” frightens and beguiles Isobel; when he is upset by what his portrait reveals to his kingdom, he abducts her so that she might stand trial for the affront. Rogerson’s moody debut novel is suffused with an intoxicating and palpable romantic longing. As Isobel and Rook break the “Good Law” by falling for each other, Rogerson turns forbidden love into fresh adventure with danger, chases, a glorious ball, and unexpected narrative turns. Readers will delight in her interpretation of classic fairy themes and lore, and in the humor laced into the story (Isobel’s rowdy younger sisters began life as goats, before being ensorcelled by a drunk fairy). An ideal pick for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor. Ages 14–up. Agent: Sara Megibow, KT Literary. (Sept.)
Reviewed on: 07/17/2017
Release date: 09/26/2017
Downloadable Audio - 978-1-5082-4352-6
Show other formats
FORMATS
The Best Books, Emailed Every Week
Tip Sheet!
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X